top of page

Spain preparations for ICC WCL Europe Division 2 underway

Spain Cricket

Spain will take part in this years ICC World Cricket League - Europe Division Two and the hosts for the tournament will be Sweden.

Spain will be grouped with the hosts Sweden, Isle of Man, Gibraltar, Israel and Germany. The tournament will take place in Stockholm from the 16th to 21st August. Teams will arrive at the Swedish capital on the 16th and depart on the 21st.

The event will be played in a single round robin format of T20 matches where everyone will play each other once. The tentative timetable at present is

17th August - two matches per team

18th August - one match per team

19th August - Reserve - rest day

20th August - two matches per team.

Team manager Manny Fernandez, Coach Bobby Denning and Sports analyst Pete Williams have already identified 18 players in contention for the tournament, and this number will be whittled down to a final 14 closer to the event.

Spain's next match up wil be in February at La Manga when they once again entertain the Tom Maynard XI, who are made up of a squad of players from County sides in the United Kingdom.

Featured Posts