top of page

Wimbledon & Hampton Wick Royal progress to Surrey ECB Men's Indoor Finals

Wimbledon CC and Hampton Wick Royal CC are the first teams to progress to the Surrey ECB Men's Indoor Cricket League County Finals.

Victories for both teams in their final league games ensured they finished as top two sides in the Outer section of the competition, Wimbledon taking top spot by virtue of a superior run rate.

Hampton Wick Royal ensured they finished in the top two when they beat Worcester Park CC by 33 runs.

Wick batted first and made 118 for 5 off their 12 overs. Fawid Anis making 21, Yasir Ahmed 39 retired, with 33 runs also coming via extras. Worcester Park’s Stuart Bradshaw in amongst the action in the field with figures of 1 for 17, plus a catch and a run out.

In reply, Bradshaw top scored with the bat making 18 as his side reached 85 for 5 off their 12 overs. Top score came via some 39 runs in extras, but Anis’ figures of 2 for 17 went some way to restricting Worcester Park in their run chase and also earning him th game’s MVP.

So with Hampton Wick Royal winning, it all boiled down to the winner-takes-all game between British Tamils Cricket League and host club Wimbledon CC to see who would progress to the Finals and who would go into the play-offs.

And it proved to be a short-lived low scoring decider as Wimbledon edged matters by two wickets.

British Tamils Cricket League batted first and made 68 for 6 (all out) in 11.2 overs.

Gopinath Navaretnam making 19 with the bat, along with another 21 runs coming in extras against a Wimbledon attack that saw Dilshan De Silva take 2 for 11 and wicketkeeper Tom Cooper take two catches and two stumpings.

In reply, Wimbledon lost four wickets in reply, but reached their target in 10.1 overs. Some 26 runs came in extras with James Johnston top scoring with 18, as S Kokulabalan took an impressive 3 for 13.

The win means Wimbledon and Hampton Wick Royal progress to the Surrey Indoor County Finals as Outer Section winners and runners-up respectively.

By finishing third, British Tamils Cricket League now go into the play-offs to decide who also progresses into the County Finals from this section, and they will come up against Old Rutlishians next Thursday (17th December)

The other play-off semi-final will see Old Tenisonians CC take on Spencer CC, before the winners of both semi-finals go head-to-head in the play-off final to see who keeps their involvement alive going into the New Year.

Next fixtures

Thursday 17th December 2015

7.00pm - Play-off 1

British Tamils Cricket League v Old Rutlishians

8.00pm - Play-off 1

Old Tenisonians CC v Spencer CC

9.00pm - Play-Off final

Winner Play-Off 1 v Winner Play-Off 2

Featured Posts